Gabriel Szatan

Actually really, really nice

Interview: Jon Hopkins [Unpublished]

oppers proppers

“It’s my absolute favourite thing in music, to try and have a really strong narrative arc that takes you from the beginning to the end. You’re right – even in mastering we had the volume dip lower and lower and lower. I wanted to take people to a crescendo and over it. For me, I’m obsessed with the power of contrast in music…the effect [the tracks] have on each other is what I’m interested in. The track before will sound better in retrospect having heard the one after it, and vice versa. If you look at the bigger picture, the album has that flow to it. And yeah, that’s what I like.”

Sample excerpt above taken from an interview conducted 21/07/13 on behalf of Simple Things Festival in conjunction with Crack Magazine. Full video available on request for strictly non-commercial purposes.

