Gabriel Szatan

Actually really, really nice

Interview: Artwork [Unpublished]

artwork

“On more than ten occasions in America when the three of us have done a Magnetic Man show and come off stage, people see Benga and Skream walking off, ask if they can have a picture, and then get in the shot with them and hand me the camera. More than ten occasions. No-one knows who the fuck I am and they never have, but it doesn’t bother me.”

– – –

When I walked in you were playing Andrés, what sounded like Crazy P and some more tech stuff. Do you enjoy the warm-up slots like tonight, from 11.30-12.30, seeing as you also have a lot of opportunities to play festival slots. Do you like seeing a crowd flow into the room?

“Yeah, tonight for the warm-up at Fabric I probably put more into thinking about what I was going to play than when doing a straight-up headline set, you know? It’s great. Warm-up DJs in a club set the night up, so you’ve got to do it dead right. You can’t go for bangers and crowd-pleasing stuff, but have to get everybody into whatever’s going to happen. It’s an enjoyable job to watch a room go from nothing. Yeah, I like it.”

– – –

You were producing techno around the turn of the Millenium and had a big breakthrough with ‘Red’, then your own productions slowed down considerably before Magnetic Man, but you’ve been making bootlegs here and there. Do you ever get a chance to play the very early stuff and if so, do people react well to it?

“I never really play my own music because I don’t think it’s that good. It’s just one of those things. I think you’d be a total wanker if you thought your stuff was better than most of the material out there. There’s so much great music around. I listen to someone’s record and it’s ten times better than the stuff I make, so why play mine?

– – –

Sample excerpts above taken from an interview conducted 28/03/13 on behalf of the Pleasure Principle Weekender. Full audio and transcription available on request for strictly non-commercial purposes.

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2013 by in Audio, Interview, Unpublished and tagged , , , , , , .
